Rocket.Chat & Google Summer of Code

Rocket.Chat is delighted to participate as a mentoring organization for the 2021 Google Summer of Code (GSoC) program.

Student application for GSoC 2021 will begin March 29, 2021. In the meantime, connect with Rocket.Chat's GSoC Alumni and Mentors.

Rocket.Chat & Google Summer of Code
Alumni Summit 2021

Schedule

"Alumni and Mentors graciously sharing experience and tips with future Google Summer of Code 2021 students"

  • Please select your time zone:
  • March 29, 2021
  • Sing Li @sing.li
    11:45am - Welcome Students to Rocket.Chat's GSoC 2021!

     

  • Mrinal Dhar @mrinal.dhar
    12pm - GSoC 2017 Alumni (Improve implementation of End-to-End encryption with Signal protocol)

     

  • Adarsh Naidu @adarsh.naidu
    12:30pm - GSoC 2020 Alumni (Rocket.Chat Alexa Skill and Google Action Improvements)

     

  • Fongang Rodrique @Fongang.Rodrique
    1:00pm - GSoC 2019 Alumni (Interactive APIs documentation)

     

  • Ashwani Yadav @ashwani.yadav
    1:30pm - GSoC 2020 Alumni (Omnichannel: Add screen sharing feature in the Livechat widget)

     

  • Amish Mittal @Amish.Mittal
    2:00pm - GSoC 2019 Alumni (Implementation of Newsfeed in Rocket.Chat Server)

     

  • Taimur Azhar @taimur.azhar
    2:30pm - GSoC 2020 Alumni (Download Manager on Desktop App)

     

  • José Renan @joserenan
    3:00pm - GSoC 2018 Alumni (Rocket.Chat SDK for Javascript Clients)

     

  • Nick Vidal @nick.vidal
    3:30pm - Closing Session

     

  • March 29 - April 13, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Student Application Period: Students can register and submit their applications to mentor organizations. All proposals must be submitted by April 13, 2021.
  • May 17, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Student Projects Announced: Accepted students are paired with a mentor and start planning their projects and milestones.
  • May 17, 2021 - June 7, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Community Bonding: Students spend a month learning more about their organization’s community.
  • June 7, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Coding Begins: Students work on their Google Summer of Code projects.
  • July 12 - 16, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Evaluations: Mentors and students submit their evaluations of one another.
  • August 16 - 23, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Students Submit Code and Final Evaluations: Students submit their code, project summaries, and final evaluations of their mentors.
  • August 23 - 30, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Mentors Submit Final Evaluations: Mentors review student code samples and determine if the students have successfully completed their Google Summer of Code 2021 project.
  • August 31, 2021
  • GSoC @gsoc2021
    Results Announced: Students are notified of the pass/fail status of their Google Summer of Code 2021 projects.

Alumni

Mentors

  • Amol Babu @amol.babu
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Asrar @asrar
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Diego Mello @diego.mello
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Diego Sampaio @diego.sampaio
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Douglas Fabris @douglas.fabris
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Douglas Gubert @douglas.gubert
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Felipe Cecagno @fcecagno
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Gabriel Engel @gabriel.engel
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Gabriel Henriques @gabriel.henriques
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Govind Dixit @govind.dixit
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Guilherme Gazzo @guilherme.gazzo
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Kevin Aleman @kevin.aleman
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Shiqi Mei @shiqi.mei
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Marcelo Schmidt @marcelo.schmidt
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Martin Schoeler @martin.schoeler
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Murtaza Patrawala @murtaza.patrawala
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Pierre Lehnen @pierre.lehnen
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Rafael Ferreira @rafaelferreira
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Ramkumar KB @ramkumar.kb
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Rodrigo Nascimento @rodrigo.nascimento
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Sing Li @sing.li
    This mentor has joined the conversation.
  • Tasso Evangelista @tasso.evangelista
    This mentor has joined the conversation.